Google Adwords Questions

1. Managed Placements have the advantage of...
A. Keywords are optimized for searches on the search network.
B. Specific Search Partner sites can be targeted.
C. Sites can be automatically chosen for the advertiser.
D. Advertisers can select which sites on the content network their ads will appear on.
Correct}{Advertisers can select which sites on the content network their ads will appear on. Feedback: Managed Placements allow the advertiser to manually select individual web sites (URLs) (at an ad group level) that their ads will appear on.
2. To allow your ads to show on mobile (WAP) devices, you need to ...
A. Create Mobile ads
B. Desktop and laptop computers, and mobile devices in campaign settings
C. Desktop and laptop computers, and mobile devices in campaign settings
D. Create a new mobile targeted campaign
Correct}{ Create Mobile ads Feedback: You have to create separate Mobile ads to be shown on WAP devices. Google state - "Device platform targeting has no bearing on mobile format ads, which show ads on standard mobile phones that use mobile (WAP) browsers. If you have mobile ads in your campaign, they will continue to show as usual, regardless of the device platforms your campaign is targeting. "
3. An advertiser uses the following keyword - [Colour LCD TV]. A search for "colour lcd tv" will:
A. Not show the ad because the case keyword does not match the case of the search.
B. Show the ad.
C. Show the ad, but underneath a competitor who has a keyword with the same case
D. Not show the ad because it is not in American English
Correct}{Show the ad. Keywords are not case sensitive.
4. An advertiser is using keyword insertion in an ad {KeyWord:UK Hotels}, and is using the broad match keyword 'Manchester Hotels'. If that keyword is expanded to 'Liverpool Hotels', the ad will read as follows...
A. UK Hotels
B. Manchester Hotels
C. Liverpool Hotels
D. Liverpool hotels
Correct}{ Manchester Hotels Feedback: when using keyword insertion (also known as dynamic keyword insertion), keywords from your ad groups can be dynamically inserted into the ad. It is the most appropriate keyword in your ad groups that is inserted into the ad not the actual search term. If you are not using a keyword in your ad group, then it can't appear in your ad.
5. The keyword tool helps in identifying relevant keywords to add to your ad groups, where is it accessed from?
A. The Keywords tab
B. The Keywords tab after clicking on the Add Keywords button
C. adwords.google.com/keywordtoolexternal
D. The Ad Groups tab
Corect}{ The Keywords tab after clicking on the Add Keywords button Feedback: B is the best answer. Google state "To help you identify relevant keywords and to simplify the process of adding them to your ad groups, AdWords offers the Keyword Tool. You can access this tool from the Keywords tab after clicking the Add keywords button at the top of the keyword table. This tool will provide additional keyword ideas, including synonyms and spelling variations. You can build relevant keyword lists, review traffic estimates, and add your keywords directly to your ad groups from this tool."
6. When targeting different languages, what will Google not do?
A. Allow you to use non Roman characters in your ads
B. Display your ad in geographic areas you have specified
C. Translate your ad
D. Only display your ad to someone using the Google interface language setting you have specified
Correct}{ Translate your ad Feedback: Google does not translate ad text to different languages, it will only display ads as they have been submitted.
7. IP addresses do not always provide accurate information about a user's physical location. What do Google do help prevent irrelevant clicks on your ads?
A. Lobby government to ensure that IP address information is improved
B. Work with ISPs and telecom companies to improve IP address information
C. Use extra data from the ISP to more accurately pinpoint location
D. Display the name of your targeted region below your ad text
Correct}{ Display the name of your targeted region below your ad text Feedback: Google take the position that the accuracy of IP address information is the responsibility of others, but they do display the region under your ad text. Google state - "Internet service providers (ISPs) determine the IP address a user is assigned. In some cases a user may be assigned an IP address for a region other than where they are physically located. Unfortunately we can't determine which cases are incorrect, or change the assignment, but we do expose the name of your targeted region below your ad text to help prevent irrelevant clicks on your ads." They do not state if this reduced CTR affects the price you pay in the long run....
8. One campaign shows a very high number of clicks, but a very low conversion rate for a specific placement. Without changing the network settings or ad group contents, then advertiser could...
A. Lower bids in affected ad groups
B. Move affected ad groups to a different campaign.
C. Exclude the site using the site exclusion tool.
D. Pause affected ad groups.
Correct}{ Exclude the site using the site exclusion tool Feedback: If one site is not working for you - then exclude it!
9. In addition the targeting your standard text and image ads to specific sites on the Content network, you can use the placement tool to target...
A. Video placements, Game placements, Feed placements
B. Video placements, Game placements, Feed placements, Entertainment placements
C. Video placements, Entertainment placements, Feed placements
D. Video placements, Game placements, Feed placements, Mobile placements
Correct}{ Video placements, Game placements, Feed placements, Mobile placements Feedback: All are valid options (depending on your location).
10. An advertiser has shoe shops with multiple locations (one in London and one in Birmingham). They link their AdWords campaign to their local business center. Which address will show under their advert?
A. The one closest to the user
B. The one with the highest CPC
C. Whichever location was added first to the local business center
D. Neither
Correct}{ The one closest to the user Feedback: (a is the best answer and is how location extensions are meant to work. Although (d is possible...
NB - Local Business Center has just been renamed to 'Google Places'..
11. Managed Placements have the advantage of...
A. Keywords are optimised for searches on the search network.
B. Specific Search Partner sites can be targeted.
C. Sites can be automatically chosen for the advertiser.
D. Advertisers can select which sites on the content network their ads will appear on.
Correct }{ Advertisers can select which sites on the content network their ads will appear on. Feedback: Managed Placements allow the advertiser to manually select individual web sites (URLs) (at an ad group level) that their ads will appear on.
12. If 75,000 people enter keywords into Google that invoke your Google Ad, but 750 of those people then click on your ad to view your site, what is your CTR?
A. 0.01%
B. 1%
C. 0.11%
D. 10%
Correct}{1% Feedback: The CTR is the % of people who click through to your site from your ad. Therefore, to calculate the % or CTR, divide the number of clicks by the number of impressions and multiply the answer by 100. 750/75,000 = 0.01 * 100 = 1%
13. On initial set-up, and after you have entered your credit card or direct debit details your adword campaigns will start running ___.
A. after 24 hours
B. within 12 hours
C. almost immediately
D. as soon as 10 people have used keywords associated with your adword campaign
Correct}{ almost immediately Feedback: Google Adwords gives you maximum flexibility and control over your adwords allowing your potential customers to almost immediately view your adwords after set up.
14. When a user signs up for an Adwords account, which of the following information is taken at sign-up but cannot be changed later?
A. payment type and company name
B. billing currency and time zone
C. Business address and company registration number
D. payment type and time zone
Correct}{ billing currency and time zone Feedback: Google Adwords is built with change/edits in mind. However, the only information that cannot be edited after set-up is your billing currency and time zone.
15. What is a benefit of Google AdWords that addresses the challenge of direct response advertisers seeking to understand their ROI.
A. They can check the time of day when customers are searching.
B. They can view the recommended amount of budget necessary to show throughout the day.
C. They can view the exact locations of customers who are searching.
D. They can view the keywords that help drive customers to purchase.
Correct}{ They can view the keywords that help drive customers to purchase. Feedback: If your goal is direct response, you'd like a user to perform an action after clicking through your ad to your website (like make a purchase), so being able to view the keywords that allowed that to happen will give you a deeper understanding of your ads ROI.
16. What is best practice when creating effective ad text?
A. Include information on prices and promotions.
B. Repeat key words to add emphasis.
C. Use the home page for every URL.
D. Use the same ad text for every ad in the ad group.
Correct}{ Include information on prices and promotions. Feedback: The more information about your product that a user can gain from your ad text, the better.
17. How does Google AdWords help a client reach consumers that are ready to make a purchase?
A. AdWords targets consumers who are actively searching for what you're offering.
B. AdWords drives a lot of traffic to websites.
C. The system analyses where clients are not achieving a good return on market investment.
D. The system analyses where clients may not be targeting an audience most effectively.
Correct}{ AdWords targets consumers who are actively searching for what you're offering. Feedback: By giving your products or services a presence during relevant user searches, you're ensuring that you're visible in a crucial point in the customer's buying cycle.
18. If an advertiser resets a Google AdWords account password what should they also be aware of ?
A. The advertiser will need to sign in to their Google Accounts page to update their password across all Google products.
B. The advertiser will use the new password on AdWords, but the old password on other Google products.
C. The password will also need to be reset on other Google products with the same login.
D. The advertiser will now use the new password across all Google sign-on products. Correct answer selected
Correct}{ The advertiser will now use the new password across all Google sign-on products. Feedback: If you use other Google products like AdSense or Checkout with the same Google Account username, changing your AdWords sign-in information will also update your sign-in information for those services.
19. The first element of a video ad that a user will see is:
A. The Google logo.
B. An Opening image.
C. A Call to action.
D. The YouTube logo.
Corect}{ An Opening image. Feedback: Video ad will display as a static image prior to user interaction
20. What would be the appropriate account access level to assign a co-worker who also needs to log onto the AdWords account to make changes and manage access levels?
A. Managed Access.
B. Administrative Access.
C. Reports Access
D. Standard Access.
Correct}{ Administrative Access. Feedback: Only those with Administrative Access may invite and disable access for other users
21. What is the AdWords Discounter function?
A. It automatically reduces the maximum CPC on certain pages within the Google Content Network.
B. It automatically reduces an advertiser's actual cost-per-click (CPC) so that you pay the lowest price possible for the ad's position on the page.
C. It reduces an advertiser's actual CPC to $0.01 above your closest competitor's bid.
D. It reduces and advertiser's max CPC in conjunction with conversion data to lower overall costs.
Correct}{ It automatically reduces an advertiser's actual cost-per-click (CPC) so that you pay the lowest price possible for the ad's position on the page. Feedback: AdWords discounter monitors your competition and automatically reduces your actual cost-per-click so that you pay the lowest price possible for your ad's position on the page. It adjusts your actual CPC so you pay the minimum amount required to exceed the rank of the next ranked ad.

16 comments:

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